The Swanton Animal Control Officer (ACO) only deals with dogs, for other types of animals please visit the Vermont Fish & Wildlife Department.
WARNING: Unlicensed dogs will be impounded by the ACO and fines will apply.
Dog License Fees
By April 1st:
- $14.00 if Spayed / Neutered
- $18.00 if NOT Spayed / Neutered
After April 1st:
- $18.00 if Spayed / Neutered
- $24.00 if NOT Spayed / Neutered
Vermont Spay Neuter Incentive Program (VSNIP) helps eligible Vermonters afford to have their dogs and cats spayed or neutered and is funded by a $4 fee added to the cost of getting a dog license in Vermont. Dogs are legally required to be licensed by the age of 6 months. They must have a rabies vaccine to get a license. They should get their first rabies vaccine between the age of 12 weeks and 6 months.
License and Vaccination Requirements
Note: All dogs living in Swanton must be licensed by April 1st each year and vaccinated for rabies. Licenses are available at the town clerk’s office. Bring in a current rabies certificate and spay/neuter certificate to the town clerk. Call 802-868-4421 for more information on licensing. All unlicensed dogs are subject to impoundment by the ACO, and heavy fines and fees will apply before the dog can be returned to the owner. Please license all of your dogs by April 1st!
Under state law, all cats must also be vaccinated for rabies.